GGR Life Members

The Board may recognize sustained membership in and service to GGR by designating individuals as GGR life Members. The individuals so honored are:

NameYear Honored
Karl Keller1995
George Neidel1995
Shirley Neidel1996
James & Jean Ohl2004
William Benz2011

Olen Creech Award Recipients

The Olen Creech Award is GGR’s highest award. It honors members who have made extraordinary contributions to the club over a period of years. It is named in honor of Olen Creech who, for many years, has handled the arduous task of completing GGR’s federal and state tax returns and has never charged the club for this service. The Olen Creech Award is not intended to be awarded every year, but only when merited.

2011Olen CreechFirst recipient, for service as noted in the description of the award above.
2013Bubba GongFor organizing and directing 4 years of charitable fundraising events for GGR.

Perc Bliss Award Recipients

This award honors Perc Bliss, the first President of Golden Gate Region. Each year, the President selects the member(s) who has made the greatest contribution to the club during the year. The recipients of this honor are:

1982Felix Oramas2000(not awarded)
1983Michael Lommatzsch2001Howard Yao
1984Sandi Candlin/Barbara Maas2002Larry, Linda & Greg Adams
1985George & Shirley Neidel2003Louise Sousoures & Susan Angebranndt
1986Michael Lommatzsch2004Ken Park & Harold Williams
1987Chet & Lyn Martin2005Doug & Dana Ambrisko
1988Gary Walton/Bert Wall2006John Celona
1989Shirley Neidel2007Andrew Forrest
1990Gary Ringen2008Matt & Carl Switzer
1991Paula Evans2009Warren Walker & Mike Cullinan
1992Gerry Brown2010Claude Leglise
1993Chet Martin2011Carl Switzer, Mike Cullinan, Warren Walker, and Andrew Forrest
1994David Kimes2012Michael T. Sherman
1995Steve Group2013Andrew Blyholder
1996Bill Newlin2014Elaine Macey
1997Carolyn Lusk2015(not awarded)
1998Louise Sousoures2016Brad Kellett
1999Dave & Sheila Dunwoodie2017Bryan Phan

Don Lang Memorial Award Recipients

The Don Lang Memorial Award is presented annually to the GGR member who most exhibits the spirit of good sportsmanship and service to the Club as shown by Don Lang, in whose memory the award is presented. The recipient is selected by nomination of the Time Trial Chairperson(s) and/or Board of Directors and approved by vote of the Board of Directors. The honorees are:

1985Ed Clement2002Bill Benz
1986Cecil & Carol Beach2003Henry Watts
1987George Neidel2004Karen Neidel
1988Troy Lothrop2005Jay Dugan
1989Ken Mack2006Gary Dorighi
1990Dennis Tholen2007Mike Cullinan
1981Charlie Arolla2008John Seidell
1992Dan Cowell2009Ross and Paulette Johnson
1983Diane Kimes2010Paul Marty
1994Brian Perry2011Heath Spencer
1995Bill Newlin2012Tim Smith and Kim Garcia
1996Larry & K. C. Sharp2013Paul Larson
1997Pattie DeMartini2014Milo & Diane Dorr
1998Masuo Robinson2015(not awarded)
1999Scott Yeaman2016(not awarded)
2000Bill Benz2017Paul Marty
2001Laurie Yonk

Don Matthews Memorial Award Recipients

The Don Matthews Memorial Award is presented annually to the new member(s) who most represents the enthusiasm and spirit of Don Matthews, in whose memory the award was presented. The honorees are:

1976Rosemary Humphreys1997Olen Creech
1977Robert Sherman1998(not awarded)
1978Keenan & Donna Jean Cassidy1999Robert Murillo
1979Michael Lommatzsch2000Howard Yao
1980Mark Gang2001(not awarded)
1981Felix & Reina Oramas2002Chet Bottone
1982Danielle Maddox2003Jim McClelland
1983Jack Kuhn2004Larry & Loren Burgess
1984Rick Guide2005Laura Mercier
1985(not awarded)2006(not awarded)
1986Teresa Neidel2007Carl & Matt Switzer
1987Bob & Karen Crookshank2008Mike Koozman
1988David & Diane Kimes2009(not awarded)
1989Stacy Lynd2010Ralf Dossman
1990Anne West2011Linda Adams
1991Lloyd & Pattie DeMartini2012John Seidel and Howard Yao
1992John & Lynn Chakel2013(not awarded)
1993Esther Ho2014(not awarded)
1994Ross & Lauren Merrill2015(not awarded)
1995Dennis & Lisa Yearton2016(not awarded)
1996Bob & Marianne Gardner2017(not awarded)

Competitive Event Of The Year Recipients

The Competitive Event of the Year is selected by the Board of Directors. Past winners are:

1990Parade Autocross2006PRC/TT: Andrew Forrest & Masuo Robinson
1991Time Trial2007Carlsen Concours: Larry Adams
1992High Speed Drive, David Kimes2008(not awarded)
1996Inaugural Club Race, David Kimes2009Warren Walker & Mike Cullinan for club race at Thunderhill
1997Urban Assault Rallye, Bob Gardner2010Autocross Series, Joe Lee & Chris Hamilton
1999Time Trial Series, Masuo Robinson2012Larry Adams, The Carlsen Concours
2000Autocross Series, John Seidel2013(not awarded)
2001Autocross at Candlestick, Bill Newlin2014Laguna Seca DE: Kim Garcia, Craig Lisowski, Tim Smith, and Heath Spencer
2002Sears Point Club Race, Masuo Robinson2015(not awarded)
2003Autocross Series, David Leong2016Larry Adams, The Carlsen Concours
2004Sears Point/Infineon Time Trial, Ken Park2017Autocross Series: Andrew Blyholder
2005Carlsen Concours

Social Event Of The Year Recipients

The Social Event of the Year is selected by the Board of Directors. Past selectees are:

1990Death Valley Tour2006New Member Social: Louise Sousoures
1991Christmas Party2007Team visits at Infineon and Laguna Seca: Mark Powell
1992Time Trial Awards Banquet, Charlie Arolla2008Vasona Picnic, Mark Powell
1996Tech Session Series, David Blanchard2009Awards Banquet, Mark Powell
1997Death Valley Tour, Croom Family201050th Anniversary, John Celona & Bubba Gong
1998New Member Socials, Louise Sousoures2011Volunteer Appreciation Day, Bubba Gong
1999GGR Night at Altamonte, Larry Sharp2012Joe Sweis, All of Them
200040th Anniversary Party, Karen Neidel2013(not awarded)
2001Agricultural Tour, Rob Neidel2014Highway 1 to Wine Country: Sukesh Mohan, Thom Ruben, and Alice Yeh
2002Krote Tour, Larry & KC Sharp2015(not awarded)
2003Adopt-a-Highway, Jean Ohl2016Fun Run to Santa Barbara: Gilbert Bouzeid, Robert Habibi, Brad Kellett, and Sanjay Rao
2004Yosemite Tour, Alfred Abken20172017 Holiday Party
2005Boxster Brunch, George Grialou

Enthusiast Of The Year Recipients

An Enthusiast of the Year is only selected by the Board of Directors when an individual’s service to GGR so warrants. Past GGR (PCA National Lazar-Blanchard Memorial honorees designated with *) honorees are:

1966Burt Propp *2002David Leong
1971Dwight Mitchell*2003Dean & Laura Thomas
1975John Clever*2004Neil Librock
1979John Johnson2005John Seidell
1981Bill Patton *2006Paulette Johnson
1990Michael Lommatzsch *2007Andrew Blyholder
1991K. C. Sharp2008Paul Larson
1992Larry Sharp2009Larry Adams
1994Chet Martin2010Andrew Forrest
1995George Neidel *2011(not awarded)
1996Lloyd DeMartini2012Elain Macey
1997Sharon Neidel2013(not awarded)
1998Louise Sousoures2014(not awarded)
1999Mike Mitchell/Donna Sylvanovich2015(not awarded)
2000Howard Yao2016Alice Yeh
2001Larry Adams2017Himanshu Patel

Family Of The Year Recipients

A Family of the Year is only selected by the Board of Directors when a family’s service to GGR so merits such recognition. Past GGR (PCA National honorees designated with *) honorees are:

1975Neidels *2004McGuigans
1978Johnson/Candlin family2005Adams
1982Zaccones *2006(not awarded)
1985Neidels *2007Ross & Paulette Johnson
1990(not awarded)2008Jeff & Monica Kost
1991Kuhns2009Mark, Bernadette & Jordan Gersh
1992Arollas/Yeartons2010Hamilton Racing
1996(not awarded)2011Not awarded
1997Creeches2012The Family Tavernetti
1998Dugans2013John Celona & Bubba Gong
1999(not awarded)2014Sharon Neidel and David Bunch
2000(not awarded)2015(not awarded)
2001(not awarded)2016(not awarded)
2002Murrays2017Ron & Michelle Castle